Jenna Corso (2021 BFA Studio Art) has received First Place in the Society of North American Goldsmith’s (SNAG) highly competitive Educational Endowment Scholarship. Five award recipients were selected from juried student work submitted by both undergraduate and grad students from jewelry/metals programs across the country. Jenna received the top prize of $2000. to assist in the cost of attending a graduate program or workshop program within the next 3 years. 

Fun Fact: Jenna was the only Undergraduate selected, the rest were Grad students !!!!!!


2021 Educational Endowment Scholarships - Society of North American Goldsmiths (

Congratulations to Art History major Samantha Holguin for receiving a Wentz Research Award for 2021-2022! Wentz Scholars receive $4500 to conduct independent research with the guidance of a faculty mentor. About 40 grants are given each year from across the university.

Sam’s research project is titled “Sight and Sound: The Kinetic Sculpture of Dale McKinney and the Use of Audio,” and will examine the large collection of audio tapes that McKinney has left behind and begin the setup of a digital resource to be used in the future. The goal in the end is to have the reels of tapes be catalogued and available to listen to in a digital platform that will serve as a way to safely archive the work. She will be working with Dr. Louise Siddons.

Oklahoma State University conducts first LGBTQIA2S+ panel discussion ever at an Oklahoma Historical Society Conference. The panel includes Arlowe Clementine (Public History MA student), Jacie Earwood (Art History MA/Museum Studies student), Macy Jennings (Art History MA/Museum Studies student), B Hinesley (Public History MA/Museum Studies student) and Dr. Laura Arata as moderator. 

The group propsal was “Fluid Resistance: a queer analysis of art and politics in Oklahoma” to be presented at the 2021 Oklahoma History Conference, “Perspectives in History.”

The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve, and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma and its people.



Art History Organization’s exhibition Recovering: Aesthetics of Regeneration. The deadline is April 2, 2021 to submit works for consideration. Recovery is an ongoing process whether it's mental or physical health. AHO asks artists how recovery manifests itself in their work. Email with and image of your work alongside a short statement of recovery shows up in your art!

Announcing the winners of the 2021 Mask Making competition sponsored by Religious Studies.

Masks have been used for religious, dramatic, and other artistic purposes for thousands of years. Masks have also been used to protect the wearer from injury in combat, in sports, and in more recent times, from pathogens. Due to Covid-19, masks have also become part of our daily lives. The aim of the competition was to help elevate the mundane burden of Covid masks to something more artistic, more symbolic, more culturally expressive.


Each student created a sculptural mask and provided a short video performance with insight into the ideation and technical approach to the judges. The University-wide competition was juried by Lawrence Pasternack, Professor of Philosophy and Director of Religious Studies, Jessica Teckemeyer, Assistant Professor of Sculpture, and Tom Wikle, Professor of Geography and CAS Associate Dean.

Click to see the winners and their videos.

2021 Mask Making Winners